Peer Supporters

Peer support is a crucial part of welfare, both in college and at the University. Green Templeton College Student Peer Supporters are available to talk with you informally about anything that is concerning you.

If you have doubts or issues to work through, or just need an impartial, completely confidential ear to listen, they are here to help you out, providing an informal and friendly service.

All Peer Supporters undergo 30 hours of training with the Oxford University Counselling Service before taking up their post.

You can email a peer supporter to set up a meeting or get in touch on behalf of friends that you are worried about.

If you have any questions about joining the Peer Support Team, training or playing a greater role in the college, then please contact any one of our Peer Supporters.

Learn more about becoming a Peer Supporter.

Green Templeton’s Peer Supporters

You can contact peer supporters via email personally or by emailing peersupport@gtc.ox.ac.uk. If you cannot reach a peer supporter and are in need of immediate help, please contact a Junior Dean (+44 (0)7868 185963) or The Lodge (+44 (0)1865 274770). If it is an emergency, please contact emergency services on 999.

The information on this page is also available as a downloadable poster.

You can also read an interview with our Peer Supporters with more details on how their roles work, how to contact them, and what they can provide.

Cori Campbell200

Cori Campbell

Happy to chat about any all aspects of student life and welfare, either virtually or in person (socially distanced, of course)

 

Sofija Paneva200Sofija Paneva

Originally I’m from a tiny country in the Balkans called Macedonia. I’ve lived in Oxford over four years and it’s my second home. This is my second year at GTC and I decided to become a Peer Supporter because I thought it would be a great way to engage with the college community and build meaningful connections within it. Please do get in touch if any of those activities sound enjoyable to you or if you simply feel like chatting about any aspect(s) of your experience here.

 

Ella Dunlop200Ella Dunlop

British 4th year medical student. Did pre-clinical medicine at Brasenose and recently took a year out to travel and work in research. Learning to grow veg in my spare time on a small allotment. Open for a chat and to hear you out. Get in contact to figure out a time that works.

 

Kay ShigemoriKay Shigemori

I have a passion for science almost as strong as my passions for Netflix shows and coffee. From Japan and lived in Singapore and Boston, USA – so I understand the struggles of adjusting to a new environment! Happy to chat over a walk or coffee.

 

Jordan Gorenberg200Jordan Gorenberg

Born and raised in California, Jordan recently completed his MPhil in Medical Anthropology before continuing onto the DPhil in Anthropology. He enjoys playing and listening to music, reading and cooking. Jordan is always willing to have a chat, especially over coffee.

Ken Deng200

Ken Deng

Rainbow Peer
Chinese postgrad in Finance from Chengdu who has lived around different places (the US, Japan) before moving to the UK for further study and work. In my leisure, I enjoy rowing, volunteering, watching good series and having deep conversations.

 

Merima Sabanovic200Merima Sabanovic

I come from Bosnia and Herzegovina but I lived in Abu Dhabi and London for my undergraduate studies and have moved to Oxford for my MSc and DPhil studies. I study neuroscience, focusing on pre-clinical research of mental health treatments. I am happy to chat about anything on your mind and I’m also a trained bereavement counsellor working for the Cruse centre in Oxford.

 

Gayatri Tadikamalla200Gadyatri Tadikamalla

Peer of Colour
I’m a medic by day and a medic by night! In my spare time I enjoy singing and trying out new recipes. I’m happy to chat if there is something on your mind.

 

Austen FisherAusten Fisher

Rainbow Peer
An Oregonian connecting with his ancestral roots out here in the land of Druids. When I am not engaged with my studies you can find me skateboarding, kayaking, camping, gardening, snowboarding, surfing, or scuba diving alongside my wife, Birdie (who you’ll find working in GTC’s Lodge). When recovering from adventuring, you’ll find me inside nerding-out on various board games, music, art, and psychonautics, along with all things Marvel and Lord of the Rings. As a second-year DPhil student in anthropology who also survived an MSc with relative grace, I am happy to chat about anything and know all the best spots for food, adventures, pints, and coffee.

 

Irene MathiasIrene Mathias

I’m Irene, a 5th year medical student. I was born in America but grew up in Oxford. I’m always up for a chat about anything that’s on your mind, good or bad!