Academy of Medical Sciences elects Professor David Hunter and Professor Martin Landray to Fellowship

The Academy of Medical Sciences has elected Governing Body Fellow Professor David Hunter and Senior Research Fellow Professor Martin Landray to its prestigious Fellowship.

David Hunter and Martin Landray

(L-R) Professor David Hunter and Professor Martin Landray

Professor Hunter is the Richard Doll Professor of Epidemiology and Medicine, and is Director of the Translational Epidemiology Unit at the University of Oxford.

Professor Landray is Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology at the University of Oxford and he has been at the forefront of the search for COVID-19 treatments in his role as Chief Investigator of the RECOVERY Trial, the world’s largest COVID-19 drug trial, alongside Professor Peter Horby, another new Fellow.

There have been 50 prominent biomedical and health scientists elected to the Fellowship this year.

The Academy said each of the new Fellows were selected for their ‘exceptional contributions to the advancement of medical science through innovative research discoveries and translating scientific developments into benefits for patients and the wider society.’

Professor Dame Anne Johnson PMedSci, President of the Academy, said: ‘I am truly delighted to welcome these 50 new Fellows to the Academy’s Fellowship, and I offer my congratulations to each of them on their exceptional contribution to biomedical and health science. The knowledge, skill and influence that each brings to the Fellowship is the Academy’s most powerful asset.

‘The last year has clearly demonstrated the power and prowess of UK biomedical science, and I am proud of how many Fellows, new and old, have been at the forefront of the COVID-19 response in the UK and globally.

‘Although it is hard to look beyond the pandemic right now, I want to stress how important it is that the Academy Fellowship represents the widest diversity of biomedical and health sciences. The greatest health advances rely on the findings of many types of research, and on multidisciplinary teams and cross-sector and global collaboration.’

Professor Philippa Saunders FRSE FMedSci, Registrar of the Academy, said: ‘The Academy’s mission of improving health via biomedical research relies upon the brightest minds coming together from across a wide range of backgrounds.

‘The pandemic has highlighted the global nature of health and the immense power that the scientific community can have when it works together. I am delighted to welcome the 50 new Fellows and look forward to working with them through the Academy.’

The Academy of Medical Sciences is the independent body in the UK representing the diversity of medical science.

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy on Thursday 1 July 2021.

Created: 12 May 2021

Green Templeton College Instagram Image 1Green Templeton College Instagram Image 2Green Templeton College Instagram Image 3Green Templeton College Instagram Image 4